Victory!

Hey guys & gals,

Guess what? I didn’t spend any moolah today. Gasp! *virtual fist-bump*

I’ve been having a crazy week. On Friday night, I went to see the comedian Jim Gaffigan and laughed until I choked. If you haven’t seen him in person, you should. And if you haven’t listened to any of his stuff, you SHOULD. Check out “Beyond the Pale” first (it’s on Netflix!).

On Saturday, I had an event and nothing to wear (seriously!), so I was frantically running around the mall looking for something, anything. I know, I know, going to the mall when you’re on a budget is like an addict wandering into a crack house going “It’s fine…” But this was an emergency (sort, of). And I did find an amazing top from Express. A cool $40 later, I was out and running and almost certainly late. And sure, my clothes budget for this month ($55) took a significant hit. But I got so many compliments on that top that it was totally worth it. I want to wear it everywhere. By the way, it was this one (only in a pretty green).

Today, I had a meeting at Starbucks (my holy place), and I didn’t buy a single cup of coffee, even though I could practically hear my taste buds yelling “give us the caffeine, already!” Man, this budgeting stuff is damn difficult. But the meeting was a success, so all’s well that end’s well.

And the best part? For dinner tonight, I pulled out some frozen shrimp from the scary depths of my freezer (toeing the line on the expiration date) and made some ah-maz-ing shrimp scampi pasta (here’s the recipe). And I didn’t spend a dime. (Check out the photo of my own attempt on my instagram page).

How was y’alls weekend? Did you spend big or save those pennies? Give me a shout out in the comments…

K.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a comment